top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJM Cliff

Words and Music Notes Make Beautiful Stories



Every writer knows how inspiring music can be to their work. I (Amanda) often cannot find the words until a mournful violin or a throbbing drumbeat helps me harness my ideas. I've even listened to specific soundtracks while writing or reading and now those songs bring back memories of stories. But I can honestly say that I've never fathomed turning books into music. But my good friend Austin Farmer did just that.


Chelsea and I were approached several months ago by Austin asking if he could turn a chapter of our first book The Dark Pilgrim into music. We were intrigued by the idea and immediately prodded him for more details. He explained to us that he was developing a soundtrack for readers and writers. And he said this soundtrack would be derived from our favorite books. And this genius creation would be named The Bookshelf Symphony Orchestra.


Yesterday Austin posted a little update on The Bookshelf Symphony Orchestra:


"I’m excited to announce that after nearly two years of writing and production, my album “The Bookshelf Symphony Orchestra” is coming out next week. Produced by @heathfarmermusic and mixed/mastered by @addamsfarm, this is an album for readers and writers to listen to during reading and writing sessions. It is directly influenced by the novels I have read and couldn’t have been made without these stories. Stay tuned for song excerpts and videos in the coming days. I hope you enjoy these songs as much as I enjoyed creating them."

- Austin


We are honored to be included among the ranks of Patrick Rothfuss' Name of the Wind, Extraction by Stephanie Diaz, and others. We will post another update with The Dark Pilgrim's song once it is officially released. Do you have a favorite soundtrack or artist to listen to while reading, writing, or working?




 
4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page